Thursday, November 13, 2014

NEW BLOG & LINK TO The Odyssey of Falling by Paige Crutcher REVIEW

QUICK!  Click HERE! to go directly to my review of The Odyssey of Falling by Paige Cruther and completely bypass my BLOG UPDATE that explains why you're going to a different blog!!


My new blog is LIVE guys, though it is in no way finished.
I agreed to be a part of the The Odyssey of Falling blog tour before my husband surprised me by buying our domain name and making me a completely new blog (and switching from blogger to wordpress to boot!)

So my review has been posted here!  It is in no way how the final site will be done, but it does have my template, graphics, etc.

There is no home button, menu bars, etc. because this blog isn't completely finished yet!  Sorry!  And my old reviews haven't been switched over yet.  Please be patient with us, neither of us actually went to school for this and are learning a brand new blogging site on the fly as well as building a brand new template from scratch.

I am so excited to get back to blogging, and I'm sorry I've been gone for so long!  I promise I do have at least 10 reviews in the can, waiting to be uploaded to you guys!!

See you guys on the other site (which will be linked directly to when completely finished.  Though new blog posts will be showing up there soon!!).

Thursday, October 23, 2014

#HaleNo, #BloggerBlackout, and Blog Updates

Its been so long, but with very good reason!! *this post is not formatted because I am using an app, on mini vacation, and don't have my laptop handy*

First of all, Happy Cloud Reviews will be joining Dear Author and other book bloggers for #bloggerblackout, basically meaning I will not be posting reviews for New Releases (which I have a few!) For the next week in light of all of the KH drama and #HaleNo.  My New Release reviews (and all other reviews and features) will begin posting early morning of Nov. 1st.

Secondly, where have I been?? blog is being completely reformatted and I am getting brand new graphics, logo, the works, and my wonderful husband has been doing it all over the past 3 weeks. So I've been reading, supervising that (because this is still my blog), enjoying having a toddler, writing reviews, and following #HaleNo and GamerGate at a rather unflattering rate. I meant to format my reviews and start getting them up, but life kept happening. And then I set a few to start uploading this week and decided to postpone that due to the KH situation.

So, Kathleen Hale...? Yep. That happened. I had ACTUALLY just started No One Else Can Have You 2 days before that whole fiasco began. Needless to say, I immediately stopped reading that. I don't support stalkers. Especially considering I've been stalked as a teenager, I was disturbed, frightened, and angry about her piece. My husband asked if I wanted to quit blogging and just be a reader. I said no. I actually enjoy what I do. I might be new and inexperienced, but I have had great experiences blogging about books. Plus the authors I have interacted with are amazing and have been very supportive of me and my blog.

For the record, I use a pseudonym for my own safety and the safety of my child. Coley Belle are both names that have very deep significance to myself and my family. They were not picked out of the sky and I have been called Coley by close friends for almost 10 years. I turn 26 on December 9th and I have a 1 year old toddler. I am a stay at home mom. And I will always be upfront with you guys.

Sorry for the long post, but this is what's going on. I hope you all are well and I will see you November 1st for blog relaunch, and book reviews!!

-Coley Belle

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Mistletoe Wedding by Melissa McClone

Source:  ARC
Genre:  Adult Romance, Holiday
Publisher:  Tule Publishing
Date Published:  October 16, 2014
Number of Pages:  T.B.D.
I received an ebook ARC of this book through NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any form for my opinions, or the review.

Event planner at the Bar V5 Dude Ranch, Meg Redstone is dreaming of a white Christmas with twinkling lights, sparkly decorations and strategically placed mistletoe. She loves making dreams come true for others, whether planning a holiday wedding or giving her young daughter the best Christmas ever. 

Ranch foreman Tyler Murphy loves the holidays, but his newest employee has taken over his barn with her over-the-top decorations. He admires Meg’s desire to give her daughter the perfect Christmas while planning a winter wonderland wedding, but he wants to show her that a Montana Christmas is more than glitter and lights. 

After raising his younger sister, an instant family is not on Ty's Christmas wish list. But he finds himself falling hard for the single mom and her little girl. Meg, however, is not interested in a romance with a cowboy like Ty, or any man. Getting her under the mistletoe is going to take a Christmas miracle . . . or a little help from Santa.   (from Amazon, since there isn't a Goodreads page thus far.)

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Blame the Mistletoe by Dani Collins

Source:  ARC
Genre:  Adult Romance, Holiday
Publisher: Tule Publishing (Montana Born)
Date Published: October 13, 2014
Number of Pages: 100
I received an ebook ARC of this book through NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any form for my opinions, or the review.

Liz Flowers has never enjoyed Christmas, but this one is shaping up to be the worst by far. She let her ex take her daughter to Mexico while she stays behind in a strange town, sitting her former mother-in-law’s high strung little dog. It’s an opportunity to meet new people, but this California girl doesn’t have much in common with the ranchers in small town Marietta. 

Blake Canon perks up with male interest when he sees a new face at his friend’s Christmas cocktail party. His son is away and a light affair would take his mind off his financial troubles. Then he realizes he knows Liz. She was once married to the brother of his ex-wife. 

Their children might be cousins, but Blake and Liz do the kissing—under the mistletoe. It’s the beginning of a new view of Christmas for Liz, but when their children arrive home unexpectedly, and family secrets are revealed, Liz isn’t sure she’ll stay in Marietta for Christmas after all. (from Goodreads)

Sunday, October 5, 2014

The Protectors by Trey Dowell

Source:  ARC  
Genre:  Adult Thriller
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/ Simon 451
Date Published: October 7, 2014
Number of Pages:  330
**I received this ARC on NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any way for this review.

An enthralling debut, The Protectors offers a dark twist on the classic superhero story as fallen hero Scott McAlister embarks on a globe-hopping chase to stop his former teammate—and ex-lover—gone rogue.

Don’t call him a superhero.

Heroes change the world. Scott McAlister? On a good day, he manages to change out of sweatpants.

It wasn’t always like this. Scott used to be leader of the Protectors, the world’s one and only squad of superheroes. It was a decent gig, but far from the shiny force for good the UN advertised. He could abide the publicity stunts, the lies, the ham-fisted government handlers—but when one of the Protectors died under his command, it was too much. Wracked with guilt, Scott stepped down and into an early retirement.

Now, five years later, a desperate CIA chief shows up on Scott’s doorstep with a polite request and a cadre of shock troops to ensure that Scott accepts. His ex-teammate and ex-lover, Lyla Ravzi, has gone rogue. The former Protector has the ability to control minds, and she’s no longer interested in “protecting.” She wants world domination.

Scott’s mission is simple: Find Lyla and stop her. The messy little details are up to him. It’s the last thing Scott needs after five years spent trying to forget the Protectors and to get over Lyla, but the alternative is worse.

As he closes in on his target, Scott is forced to confront his past and face a chilling reality: Can he save the world and the woman he once loved? Or will he have to choose?  (from Goodreads)

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Family inheritance by Terri Ann Leidich

Source: ARC
Genre: Woman's Fiction
Publisher: Boutique of Quality Books (BQB)
Date published: October 1, 2014
Number of pages: T.B.D.
I received an ebook ARC of this book through NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any form for my opinions, or the review.

Called to the bedside of their dying mother, three sisters reluctantly return to their childhood home in northern Minnesota. What should be a reunion of love and warmth is tainted by the ghosts of their childhood; their parents' farm is a place of painful memories. With their mother slipping into a coma, Helene leaves behind a shell of a marriage in Atlanta--her country club lifestyle not at all what it seems. Alice has finally fled an abusive husband but is afraid her failing courage will put her children in danger. Waking up beside yet another stranger, Suzanne can no longer deny how an alcohol addiction may destroy everything she's worked for--an addiction that barely masks the terrible wounds on her soul. They may have escaped the farm, but Helene, Alice, and Suzanne find they are still perpetuating a cycle of pain, abuse, alcoholism, anger, fear, and bitterness. Seeing themselves through each other's eyes, the sisters are forced to confront their demons as their mother lies dying.  (from Goodreads)

Frozen (Heart of Dread) by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston

Source:  ARC
Genre:  YA- Sci Fi, Fantasy
Publisher:  Hachette Children's Books
Date Published:  October 2, 2014 (UK paperback version)
Number of Pages:  365
Book 1 in the Heart of Dread series
I received an ebook ARC of this book through NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any form for my opinions, or the review.

From New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston comes this remarkable first book in a spellbinding new series about the dawn of a new kind of magic.

Welcome to New Vegas, a city once covered in bling, now blanketed in ice. Like much of the destroyed planet, the place knows only one temperature—freezing. But some things never change. The diamond in the ice desert is still a 24-hour hedonistic playground and nothing keeps the crowds away from the casino floors, never mind the rumors about sinister sorcery in its shadows.

At the heart of this city is Natasha Kestal, a young blackjack dealer looking for a way out. Like many, she's heard of a mythical land simply called “the Blue.” They say it’s a paradise, where the sun still shines and the waters are turquoise. More importantly, it’s a place where Nat won’t be persecuted, even if her darkest secret comes to light.

But passage to the Blue is treacherous, if not impossible, and her only shot is to bet on a ragtag crew of mercenaries led by a cocky runner named Ryan Wesson to take her there. Danger and deceit await on every corner, even as Nat and Wes find themselves inexorably drawn to each other. But can true love survive the lies? Fiery hearts collide in this fantastic tale of the evil men do and the awesome power within us all.  (from Goodreads)